About Us

Community Blood Bank

Community Blood Bank is a nonprofit cooperative of Sanford Medical Center and Avera McKennan Hospital. The organization provides blood products of red cells, plasma, and platelets to 34 area hospitals. In March, 1972, the very first Sioux Falls Community Blood Bank board meeting was held establishing the relationship between Sanford Medical Center and Avera McKennan for the betterment of the community. Community Blood Bank continues to be the sole provider of blood  and blood products for all hospitals within a 150 mile radius of Sioux Falls, SD, with estimated collection requirements of 550 units per week to meet the needs of our community patients. Community Blood Bank is not affiliated with any other blood bank organizations and takes pride in being self-sufficient. A special thank you for the generosity of our local blood donors and partners.


Community Blood Bank strives to provide a safe, cost effective and reliable blood supply to 34 hospitals serviced in northwestern Iowa, southwestern Minnesota, and southeastern South Dakota.


Community Blood Bank’s main objective is to embrace the communities that we service, through the building of relationships, education of youth and first time donors, and inspiring individuals to donate blood for their community. Community Blood Bank will fulfill today’s blood needs, as well as lay a foundation for tomorrow’s demands.


Community Blood Bank will be the first choice in the region when people think about impacting lives through blood donation, by providing the most convenient way for donors to donate, offering mobile flexibility, and various hours of operation.

Contact Us

Ken Versteeg

Executive Director

(605) 331-3222

Lauri Hoffmann

Program Coordinator

(605) 331-3222

Where to Donate

Community Blood Bank Board of Directors

Kenneth Versteeg

Executive Director
Community Blood Bank

Jacquelyn Choate, MD

Community Blood Bank Board Chair
Avera McKennan, Medical Director

Ryan Askeland, MD

Community Blood Bank Board Chair
Sanford Medical Center, Medical Director

Lori Popkes, MBA BAN RN NEA-BC

Avera McKennan, Chief Nursing Officer.

Taryne Smith

Sanford Medical Center, Director, Laboratory Services

Dana Heidebrink

Sanford Medical Center, V.P.

Dawn VerHoeven

Avera McKennan, Manager, Blood Bank

Mike Black

Avera McKennan, A.V.P., Laboratory Services

Adrian Holzer

Sanford Medical Center, Manager, Blood Bank