Community Blood Bank

About Community Blood Bank

Community Blood Bank (CBB) is a nonprofit cooperative of Sanford Medical Center and Avera McKennan Hospital & University Health Center, both of Sioux Falls, S.D. The organization provides blood products including red cells, plasma and platelets to more than 34 area hospitals in a 150-mile radius around Sioux Falls.

In March, 1972, the board of directors of the CBB held its first-ever meeting and established the partnership between itself and Sioux Falls’ two largest hospitals. With a focus on community improvement, the relationship continues today. CBB continues to serves as the sole provider of blood and blood products for many hospitals within its region.

With an estimated collection requirement of 550 units per week, CBB remains ready to meet the needs of our community. It is not affiliated with any other blood bank organizations, and CBB takes pride in its self-sufficient operations. CBB staff offer special thanks to local blood donors and partners for their ongoing generosity.

Our Mission

Community Blood Bank strives to provide a safe, cost-effective and reliable blood supply to hospitals in northwestern Iowa, southwestern Minnesota and southeastern South Dakota.

The Objectives of Our Organization

Community Blood Bank’s main objective is to embrace the communities that we service, through the building of relationships, education of youth and first-time donors and by inspiring individuals to donate blood for their community. CBB will fulfill today’s blood needs, as well as lay a foundation for tomorrow’s demands.

Our Values

Community Blood Bank will be the first choice in the region when people think about impacting lives through blood donation, by providing convenient ways for donors to give, offering mobile flexibility and various hours of operation.

Community Blood Bank Board of Directors

Executive Director

Kenneth Versteeg

Community Blood Bank

Board Co-Chair

Mary James, MD

Medical Director, Avera McKennan Hospital 

Board Co-Chair

Ryan Askeland, MD

Medical Director, Sanford USD Medical Center

Thomas Johnson

VP, Avera McKennan Hospital,  Hospital Pharmacy & Laboratory Services

Taryn Smith

Sanford Medical Center, Director, Laboratory Services

Dana Heidebrink

Executive Director, Emergency, Trama, Critical Care & Hospital Based Services, Sanford USD Medical Center

Dawn VerHoeven

Operations Manager, Avera McKennan Hospital

Alexis Crisp

Blood Bank Supervisor, Avera McKennan Hospital

Adrian Holzer

Blood Bank Manager, Sanford Medical Center

Visit our Locations

Sanford Health

Donor Room (located inside hospital main lobby).
Parking available in front of building (valet service available)


Monday: 7am-5pm
Tuesday: 8am-6pm
Wednesday: 7am-5pm
Thursday: 8am-6pm
Friday: 7am-5pm

Avera McKennan

Doctor’s Plaza 2, 4th floor (by skywalk)
Parking available in front of building (valet service available)


Monday: 8am-6pm
Tuesday: 8am-6pm
Wednesday: 8am-6pm
Thursday: 8am-6pm
Friday: 8am-4pm